Blogging about a blog in a blog…

Blog. Blog. Blog.

Everyone has one anymore, and if you don’t, your college professors are sure to make you get one. Last semester, I was asked to make a blog on Google for a Rhetorical Criticism course. Embarrassingly, as a 21-year old student living in America and who has been privileged by technology my whole life, I still knew nothing about blogs.  I went through the whole semester writing full blown scholarly papers on my blog, because that’s what I knew how to do.  I had references sourced at the bottom and I re-read my posts many times before publishing them to fix my grammar and sentence structure. Then the semester ended and I haven’t logged into my blog since then.

Untitled.jpg

This year roles around, and again I am asked to use a blog, on a new website too. I literally felt the tension build in the back of my neck as I thought of having to do this all again. Learn how to navigate a new website and set up an account.  Get a theme picked and follow my classmates. Then time to write. When I began my blog, I carried over my style of last year. And then I got bored. I was bored by topics that felt inspiring to me, and that felt wrong.

So I stopped making 2 outlines before typing up a blog.  I started to just type.  I still went back to add ideas and revise my wording, but it was less of a hassle this way. I learned how to read something and how to use my words to write about it.  I was able to step back and add photos to my thoughts and to make it relatable to an everyday audience.  Outside of my campus, people do not force themselves to critically think every day… in fact some may argue that not all people on campus do that either. This blog gave me the opportunity to learn how to not simplify my thoughts, but make them presentable to the general public. Not that I am the next Sir. Isaac Newton or Einstein, but you get the point.

Besides learning how to use my voice through writing and connecting with audiences, I also learned how to appropriately be a feminist through this independent study.  Now I never was someone who assumed all feminist burn their bras and braid their leg hairs together, but I definitely had an skewed concept of what it meant to be a feminist. Thanks society.

I learned that being a feminist meant supporting equal rights for everyone. It means encouraging people to think about stereotypes and accusations that humans make without thinking twice.  Being a feminist means to accept people for who they are.  It made me have an analytical view over society. And it taught me how to be mad. Through my studies, I have become frustrated with society. I see the injustice that is subtle as well as obvious.  But I also have become helpful to society because I choose to shine light on the injustices and for the capabilities to do this I must thank my professor, Colleen Clemens, for giving me the space to learn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

